Breaking News
More () »

Spring 2021 All-SWAC Football Team unveiled; Aqeel Glass named Player of the Year

Alabama A&M’s Aqeel Glass was named the SWAC Player of the Year.
Credit: SWAC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its Spring 2021 Football postseason honors on Thursday morning. The all-conference teams and individual award winners were voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.


Alabama A&M’s Aqeel Glass was named Player of the Year. Southern’s Jordan Lewis was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year while Jackson State’s Daylen Baldwin was named Newcomer of the Year. Alabama State’s Ryan Nettles took home Freshman of the Year accolades and Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Doc Gamble was tabbed Coach of the Year to round out the list of individual award winners.

Alabama A&M’s Glass continued to rewrite the record books this season as he went 67-of-113 for 1,084 yards passing and 13 touchdowns against three interceptions in just three games. One of 16 finalists for the prestigious Walter Payton Award as the national's top FCS player, Glass was also twice named Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Player of the Week. He would also add National Player of the Week honors from Stats Perform FCS and BOXTOROW. In large part due to his performance, the Bulldogs have delivered the first undefeated regular season for the program since 1966, have won the SWAC East Division for the first time since 2011 and earned a spot in the league championship game. 

Southern’s Lewis proved to be a matchup nightmare for opposing offensive lines this season with his quickness off the end leading the SWAC in sacks with 10.5 for 73 yards and tackles for loss with 15.0 for 82 yards. He completed the Spring season with 27 tackles, 15.0 tackles for loss, 10.5 sacks and one forced fumble. For his efforts Lewis was named as a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Defensive Player of the Year Award. The two-time SWAC Defensive Player of the Week also garnered BOXTOROW National Player of the Week and LSWA Defensive Player of the Week this season. 

Jackson State's Baldwin was a difference maker for the Tigers' offense this past season at the wide receiver position. He either led or ranked in the top five in the SWAC in all major receiving categories. His season best performance was a six reception 136 receiving yards outing versus Mississippi Valley State. That same game saw Baldwin haul in a total of three touchdowns as the Tigers posted their most points in a conference outing (43) for the season. He completed the season with 540 receiving yards, seven touchdowns, 27 receptions while averaging 90.0 yards per game. 

Alabama State’s Nettles capped off an impressive season by being selected as a finalist for the Jerry Rice Award given to the top freshman in FCS football. He was named SWAC Newcomer of the Week four times and the SWAC Offensive Player of the Week once this past season. He finished the season with 917 yards through the air on 85-for-144 passing and eight touchdowns. Nettles compiled a 59.0 completion percentage and was one of the top five quarterbacks in every statistical category. He is also listed 26th overall in the nation in passing touchdowns and 39th in passing yards, while also finishing in the top 50 in passing efficiency, passing yards per game, points responsible for, and points responsible for per game. 

Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Gamble led the Golden Lions to their second undefeated regular season in program history and the first since 1937. During the process he also led UAPB to its first Western Division title since 2012. Arkansas-Pine Bluff defeated Southern, Grambling State, and Prairie View A&M all in the same season for first time since 2012.


A complete listing of the all-conference teams and individual award winners is listed below.


Player of the Year
Aqeel Glass- Alabama A&M

Defensive Player of the Year
Jordan Lewis- Southern

Newcomer of the Year
Daylen Baldwin- Jackson State

Freshman of the Year
Ryan Nettles- Alabama State

Coach of the Year
Doc Gamble- Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Spring 2021 All-SWAC Football First Team Offense

 Position    Name    School

QB    Aqeel Glass    Alabama A&M

RB    Ezra Gray    Alabama State

RB    Jarod Sims    Southern

OL    Mark Evans II    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL    Brian Williams    Southern

OL    Dallas Black    Southern

OL    Dexter Fuqua    Alabama A&M

OL    Ja’Tyre Carter    Southern

WR    Daylen Baldwin    Jackson State

WR    Abdul-Fatai Ibrahim    Alabama A&M

TE    Ethan Howard    Southern

Spring 2021 All-SWAC Football First Team Defense

Position    Name    School

DL    Jordan Lewis    Southern

DL    Marcus Cushnie    Alabama A&M

DL    Christian Clark    Alabama State

DL    Jalen Ivy    Southern

LB    Keonte Hampton    Jackson State

LB    Aubrey Miller Jr.    Jackson State

LB    Storey Jackson    Prairie View A&M

DB    Jalon Thigpen    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DB    Irshaad Davis    Alabama State

DB    Chase Foster    Southern

DB    Caleb Brunson    Mississippi Valley State

Spring 2021 All-SWAC Football First Team Specialist

 Position    Name    School

K    Cesar Barajas    Southern

P    Cesar Barajas    Southern

RS    Tyrin Ralph    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Spring 2021 All-SWAC Football Second Team Offense

 Position    Name    School

QB    Skyler Perry    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

RB    Gary Quarles    Alabama A&M

RB    Caleb Johnson    Mississippi Valley State

OL    Johnathan Bishop    Southern

OL    Antearius Harrington    Alabama A&M

OL    Jonathan Williams    Alabama A&M

OL    Jeremiah Stafford    Southern

OL    Noah Hayes    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

WR    Josh Wilkes    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

WR    Zabrian Moore    Alabama A&M

TE    Jeremy Brown    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Spring 2021 All-SWAC Football Second Team Defense

 Position    Name    School

DL    Andrew Ogletree    Alabama State

DL    Michael Badejo    Texas Southern

DL    Jason Dumas    Prairie View A&M

DL    Jerry Gardner    Mississippi Valley State

LB    Kolby Watts    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

LB    Isaac Peppers    Arkansas-Pine Bluff

LB    Armoni Holloway    Alabama A&M

DB    Amari Holloway    Alabama A&M

DB    Naytron Culpepper    Alabama State

DB    Kenan Fontenot    Grambling State

DB    Jaylen Harris    Prairie View A&M

Spring 2021 All-SWAC Football Second Team Specialist

 Position    Name    School

K    Spencer Corey    Alabama A&M

P    Aubrey Grace    Alabama State

RS    Ezra Gray    Alabama State