Auburn’s Derrick Brown named Walter Camp First Team All-American


Auburn’s Derrick Brown was named to the First Team Walter Camp All-America Team. The SEC’s Defensive Player of the Year, Brown, a 6-5, 318-pound senior, made a team-high 12.5 tackles for loss and recorded 50 tackles for the Tigers in 2019, adding four sacks.

Consistently attracting double teams, he created opportunities for teammates to make plays. Brown earned SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week honors after Auburn’s games against Texas A&M, Florida and Ole Miss.

A Little History

This is the 130th edition of the Walter Camp All-America team – the nation’s oldest All- America team. Twenty-six players have been selected to the first team by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. In addition, 25 players were selected to the Second Team.

ATLANTA, GA – JANUARY 01: Auburn Tigers defensive lineman Derrick Brown (5) during the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl between the UCF Knights and the Auburn Tigers at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Michael Wade/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)
  • From 1889 to 1964, eleven players were selected.
  • In 1965, both offensive and defensive teams were picked.
  • In 1972, the first punter (Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi) was honored.
  • In 1975, the first placekicker (Chris Bahr, Penn State) was selected.
  • In 1998, the first-ever Second Team All-America team was recognized.
  • In 2001, the first kick returner (Herb Haygood, Michigan State) was picked.

Conference Info

In all, 32 different schools from eight conferences were represented on the All-America First and Second Teams (a total of 51 players selected). LSU, Clemson and Wisconsin each have three First Team honorees. Ohio State has five All-Americans (2 First Team, 3 Second Team), while LSU has four (3 First Team, 1 Second team). Overall, the Big Ten Conference had the most honorees (15), followed by the Southeastern Conference (13) and Pac-12 (7).

Walter Camp Weekend is Jan. 16-18

The 2019 Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the organization’s 53rd annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, January 18, 2020 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven, CT.

2019 Walter Camp All-America Teams

First Team Offense

WR Ja’Marr Chase, LSU
WR CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma
TE Harrison Bryant, Florida Atlantic
OL Andrew Thomas, Georgia @
OL Penei Sewell, Oregon Samoa
OL John Simpson, Clemson
OL Tristan Wirfs, Iowa
C Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin
QB Joe Burrow, LSU
RB Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin %
RB Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State
PK Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

First Team Defense

DL Chase Young, Ohio State
DL Derrick Brown, Auburn
DL Bradlee Anae, Utah
DL James Lynch, Baylor
DL Curtis Weaver, Boise State
LB Isaiah Simmons, Clemson
LB Evan Weaver, California
LB Zack Baun, Wisconsin
DB Jeff Okudah, Ohio State
DB Grant Delpit, LSU #
DB J.R. Reed, Georgia
DB Antoine Winfield, Jr., Minnesota
P Max Duffy, Kentucky
KR Joe Reed, Virginia

©TEGNA Inc. 2019. All Rights Reserved.

Get our WZDX News & Weather Apps