Alabama places seven on Sporting News’ preseason All-American team

Alabama Crimson Tide_1460868295586.jpg

Alabama football placed seven total players on the Sporting News’ 2019 preseason All-American team, which was announced Wednesday. The Crimson Tide had two first-team selections and five second-team choices.

jerry jeudy for web_1544146656064.jpg.jpg
Alabama wide receiver Jerry Jeudy

Junior wide receiver Jerry Jeudy and junior linebacker Dylan Moses were selected to the first team. Jeudy was named a first-team All-American by Sporting News following the 2018-19 season.

Alabama linebacker Dylan Moses

Junior quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, junior offensive tackle Alex Leatherwood, senior defensive end Raekwon Davis, redshirt senior linebacker Anfernee Jennings and junior safety Xavier McKinneywere named to the second team.

Clemson led all teams with three first-team selections, but Alabama claimed the most overall players between the first and second teams (seven to Clemson’s five). That competition was most notable between quarterbacks Tagovailoa and Trevor Lawrence, who split the first- and second-team honors.

The SEC had the most first-team All-American selections with eight, followed by the Big Ten (7).

Sporting News is one of five national outlets used to determine consensus All-American status,along with the American Football Coaches Association, Associated Press, Football Writers Association of American and Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Sporting New’s 2019 preseason All-American team

First-team offense

QB: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson
RB: Travis Etienne, RB, Clemson
RB: Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin
WR: Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
WR: Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State
TE: Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt
T: Andrew Thomas, Georgia
G: Shane Lemieux, Oregon
C: Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin
G: Tommy Kraemer, Notre Dame
T: Walker Little, Stanford
ATH: Rondale Moore, Purdue

First-team defense

DL: A.J. Epenesa, Iowa
DL: Derrick Brown, Auburn
DL: Kenny Willekes, Michigan State
DL: Chase Young, Ohio State
LB: Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB: Paddy Fisher, Northwestern
LB: Isaiah Simmons, Clemson
CB: CJ Henderson, Florida
CB: Bryce Hall, Virginia
CB: Andre Cisco, Syracuse
S: Grant Delpit, S, LSU

First-team specialists

K: Andre Szmyt, Syracuse
P: Braden Mann, Texas A&M
RET: Isaiah Wright, Temple

Second-team offense

QB: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama 
RB: D’Andre Swift, Georgia 
RB: J.K. Dobbins, Ohio State 
WR: CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma 
WR: Justyn Ross, Clemson 
TE: Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri 
T: Mekhi Becton, Louisville
T: Alex Leatherwood, Alabama 
C: Nick Harris, Washington 
G: Logan Stenberg, Kentucky 
G: Ben Bredeson, Michigan 
ATH: Tra Minter, South Alabama

Second-team defense

DL: Raekwon Davis, Alabama 
DL: Nick Coe, Auburn 
DL: Xavier Thomas, Clemson 
DL: Curtis Weaver, Boise State 
LB: Shaquille Quarterman, Miami 
LB: Joe Bachie, Michigan State 
LB: Anfernee Jennings, Alabama 
CB: Lavert Hill, Michigan 
CB: Jaylon Johnson, Utah 
S: Alohi Gilman, Notre Dame 
S: Xavier McKinney, Alabama

Second-team specialists

K: Cooper Rothe, Wyoming
P: Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado State
RET: Savon Scarver, Utah State

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More from WZDX News

More Don't Miss

Get our WZDX News & Weather Apps