Madison County Schools announce 2019 Teachers of the Year

Top Stories

On Tuesday night, Madison County Schools announced their Teachers of the Year and the Support Professionals of the Year.

These awards are called the Excel Awards, and on Nov. 5, the school system named Deanna Powers Spencer, a teacher at Owens Cross Roads School, as the Elementary Teacher of the Year. Deanna was born and raised in Madison County.

The Secondary Teacher of the Year award goes to Deborah Keller-Mitchell, a teacher at Sparkman High School. She refers to her students as scholars and is a widely respected instructor at Sparkman High School.

The Support Professional of the Year Excel Award for Elementary goes to Delnisa Lopez, who is from Monrovia Elementary School. The Award for secondary Support Professional goes to Amy Hunter from Meridianville Middle School.

Madison County’s new Superintendent, Mr. Allen Perkins, made those announcements at Tuesday night’s event.

Find us on social media!

Latest headlines:

Get WZDX News and Weather on the go with our news & weather apps!

©TEGNA Inc. 2019. All Rights Reserved.

Get our WZDX News & Weather Apps