Alabama Red Clay Survey at Huntsville Museum of Art


The Red Clay Survey, a juried exhibition started in 1988, highlights contemporary Southern art across all styles and media, including painting, printmaking, sculpture, fine craft, and mixed media.

An 11-state region is represented, and artists are selected through a two-fold judging process. This year’s juror was artist and educator Gerry Bergstein, who’s work has been in collections in The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; MIT; DeCordova Museum; and many others. He’s also been on the faculty of the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, for more than 30 years.

“The Red Clay Survey provides Museum visitors with a unique glimpse into the contemporary art scene from all across the Southern states,” Peter J. Baldaia, HMA’s Director of Curatorial Affairs, said.  “This competition is important not only for recognizing established and upcoming artists, but to also document the current style of southern contemporary art.”

The competition includes approximately $10,000 in cash awards, including the “People’s Choice Award”, which will be determined by visitor votes during the show.

Visit for more information.

Participating 2017 Red Clay Artists:

Douglas Baulos (Birmingham)
Tara Bullington (Florence)
Neil Callander (Tuscaloosa)
Derek Cracco (Vestavia)
Karen Graffeo (Birmingham)
Ryan Foster (Birmingham)
Randy Gachet (Birmingham)
Willoughby Hastings (Huntsville)
Stacey Holloway (Birmingham)
Dale Lewis (Oneonta)
Kathryn Mayo (Sardis)
Larry Percy (Troy)
Jane Phillips (Huntsville)
Dennis Potter (Huntsville)
Lee Prout (Huntsville)
Jared Ragland and Cary Norton (Birmingham)
Chris Taylor (Huntsville)
Rachel Wright (Mobile)

Victor Gomez (Miami)
John Markowitz (Cantonment)
Aimee Perez (Miami)
Bethany Taylor (Gainesville)

Meg Aubrey (Atlanta)
Robert Detamore (Barnesville)
Charles Ladson (Macon)
Barbara Mann (Watkinsville)
Forest McMullin (Atlanta)
Duane Paxson (Corner)
Richard Pruett (Monroe)
Karen Schwartz (Atlanta)
Michael Sugarman (Atlanta)
Ted Whisenhunt (Young Harris)

Brandon Lutterman (Middlesboro)
David Marquez (Bowling Green)
Leslie Nichols (Bowling Green)
Brent Oglesbee (Bowling Green)

Aron Belka (New Orleans)
Stephen Breaux (Mandeville)
Les Schmidt (New Orleans)

Tanja Gant (Madison)
Ruth Miller (Picayune)

Dana Brown (Maggie Valley)
Melissa Lovingood (Greensboro)

Mana Hewitt (Columbia)

Don DuMont (Memphis)
Jan Hankins (Memphis)
Jarrod Houghton (Murfreesboro)
Donald Keefe (Ooltewah)
Joe Morzuch (Memphis)
Wesley Ortiz (Memphis)
Sisavanh Phouthavong-Houghton (Murfreesboro)
Marc Rouillard (Memphis)
Zack Underwood (Memphis)

©TEGNA Inc. 2019. All Rights Reserved.

More from WZDX News

More Smart Shopper

Get our WZDX News & Weather Apps