Breaking News
More () »


AHSAA All-Stars chosen for 62nd North-South Football Classic

This year's North-South All-Star Football Classic has a new location and will be played earlier in the season. Recently, the rosters were unveiled.
Credit: AHSAA

MONTGOMERY, Ala. — North-South all-star squads for the 62nd AHSAA North-South All-Star Football Game scheduled to be played December 18 at the University of South Alabama’s Hancock Whitney Stadium on December 18 were announced by Jamie Lee,  Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA) Sunday. The 25,000-seat stadium which opened this season, is the home of the USA Jaguars.

The AHSADCA, which operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA), announced the move to Mobile earlier this month. The 61st North-South Game, scheduled to be played last summer during the AHSAA Summer Conference and All-Star Sports, was canceled in July when the conference became a virtual event.

    “We are thankful for the City of Mobile, the Mobile Sports Authority and the University of South Alabama for their interest and support of one of our premiere events,” said Lee. We look forward to partnering with them the next three years.” The contract is a three-year agreement including 2020, 2021 and 2022.

The South holds a 31-27-2 edge in the North-South series which began in 1948. The South won 22-19 in the 2019 Game. The two 37-member squads are comprised of current high school seniors. More than 200 players were nominated by member school coaches.

“We are blessed with a lot of talented football players in the AHSAA. Our member school coaches did an outstanding job nominating players and the selection committee has picked two outstanding teams,” said Lee. “With the game in December, the players will be moving right from their season into the game. This should be a very competitive contest.”

The coaching staffs selected for last July’s All-Star Game will be the staffs for the All-Star at Mobile in December. Head coach for the North for the upcoming North-South Classic is Walter Wellborn’s Jeff Smith. South head coach is Earnest Hill of McGill-Toolen High School.

The North coaching staff includes Don Dover, Fultondale; Chris Elmore, Fort Payne; Rod Isaac, Midfield; Heath Lauderdale, Susan Moore; Ryan Lolley, Gordo; Chis Musso, Haleyville; and Andy Lambert, Haleyville, the administrative coach.

The South coaching staff includes Matt Geohagan, Bibb County; Anthony Jones, Notasulga; Josh McClendon, Greenville; Brian Seymore, Demopolis; and Mark Heaton, Baldwin County, the administrative coach. 

Here are this year’s rosters:


Avery Seaton, Madison Academy, QB, Bob Godsey, 5-11, 200

Zyquez Perryman, Pleasant Grove, QB, Darrell LeBeaux, 6-2, 190

Calvin Spinks, Walter Wellborn, RB, Jeff Smith, 5-6, 155

Trent Davis, Etowah, RB, Ryan Locke, 5-10, 170

Jevon Jackson, Austin, RB, Jeremy Perkins, 5-9, 190

Damien Taylor, Tuscaloosa County, RB, Jay Todd, 5-11, 195

Kameron Thomas, Ramsay, WR, Rueben Nelson, 5-9, 170

Christian Lewis, Pleasant Grove, WR, Darrell LeBeaux, 6-3, 190

Joseph Buffett, Hoover, WR, Josh Niblett, 5-11, 173

Quindarrius Mayes, Hueytown, WR, Greg Patterson, 6-2, 195

Jett Smith, Walter Wellborn, ATH, Jeff Smith, 5-11, 182

Gregory King, Ohatchee, OL, Scott Martin, 6-3, 240

Kaden Goodwin, Walter Wellborn, OL, Jeff Smith, 6-3, 265

Caleb Lyles, Fyffe, OL, Paul Benefield, 6-3, 315

Trevor Jordan, Haleyville, OL, Chris Musso, 6-3, 315

Brandon Kirksey, Oxford, OL, Keith Etheredge, 6-6, 340

Eli Kirchharr, Mars Hill Bible, OL, Darrell Higgins, 6-3, 275

Ray Dawson, Vestavia, OL, Buddy Anderson, 6-5, 306

Treveon Bolton, Saks, DL, Jonathan Miller, 6-1, 205

Camden Treece, Scottsboro, DL, Don Jacobs, 6-3, 310

Sean Smith, Piedmont, DL, Steve Smith, 6-1, 225

Michael Lawrence, Vestavia, DL, Buddy Anderson, 6-1, 235

Bennett Davis, Gordo, DL, Ryan Lolley, 5-10, 251

Kristian Gravitt-Tucker, Haleyville, DE, Chris Musso, 6-2, 193

Aiden Simpson, Ohatchee, LB, Scott Martin, 5-11, 195

Luke Welsh, Spring Garden, LB, Jason Howard, 6-1, 221

Hunter Love, Fort Payne, LB, Chris Elmore, 6-1, 245

Tyrell Mayberry, Gordo, LB, Ryan Lolley, 6-1, 215

Rush Boyett, Athens, LB, Cody Gross, 6-1, 253

Landen Berguson, Hewitt-Trussville, LB, Josh Floyd, 5-11, 210

DeWayne Jones, Midfield, DB, Roderick Isaac, 5-10, 168

Hunter Oglen, Gordo, DB, Ryan Lolley, 5-8, 150

Martavious Davis, Etowah, DB, Ryan Locke, 5-10, 160

Noah Fuller, Ohatchee, DB, Scott Martin, 6-1, 190

Walker Lyles, Pelham, DB, Tom Causey, 6-1, 184

Salvador Lopez, Pelham, K/P, Tom Causey, 5-9, 180

Jakari Foster, Piedmont, P, Steve Smith, 6-1, 195


Jeff Smith, Walter Wellborn (head coach), Chris Elmore, Ft. Payne, Don Dover, Fultondale, Ryan Lolley, Gordo, Chris Musso, Haleyville, Rod Isaac, Midfield, Heath Lauderdale, Susan Moore


Trent Battle, QB, Daphne, Kenny King, 6-1, 195

Karson Green, QB, Saraland, Jeff Kelly, 5-11, 190

Deshun Murrell, RB, Bibb County, Matt Geohagan, 6-1, 190

Eric Watts, RB, Opelika, Erik Speakman, 5-11, 180

Kelston Fikes, RB, Leroy, Jason Massey, 5-11, 205

Reginald Davis, RB, Lee-Montgomery, Eric Hudson, 6-0, 186

Rodarius Thomas, WR, Eufaula, Ed Rigby, 6-3, 190

Harrison Wallace, WR, Pike Road, Patrick Browning, 6-2, 185

Kenuwyn Dixon, WR, Brantley, Roland Jones, 5-10, 180

Myles Butler, WR, Montgomery Catholic, Aubrey Blackwell, 6-3, 182

Byron Millsap, II, TE, McGill-Toolen, Earnest Hill, 6-1, 216

Cort Bradley, OL, Auburn, Adam Winegarden, 6-4, 300

Conner Howard, OL, Blount, Lev Holly, 6-3, 310

Joshua Dunnam, OL, Saraland, Jeff Kelly, 6-0, 230

Peyton Maples, OL, St. Paul’s, Steve Mask, 6-2, 290

Jack Myers, OL, Spanish Fort, Ben Blackmon, 6-2, 280

Wilson Hill, OL, Reeltown, Matt Johnson, 5-11, 275

Landon Kinard, OL, Bibb County, Matt Geohagan, 6-3, 285

Tre’Von Moore, DL, Opelika, Erik Speakman, 6-2, 230

Jerry Bethea, DL, Fairhope, Tim Carter, 6-2, 265

Kejaun Cason, DL, Auburn, Adam Winegarden, 6-2, 270

Logan Browning, DL, Bibb County, Matt Geohagan, 6-6, 245

Renard Williams, DL, Carver-Montgomery, James Thompson, 6-0, 260

Quinderrious Rush, DE, Central-Hayneville, Michael Perry, Jr., 6-2, 190

Chip Morgan, DE, Andalusia, Trent Taylor, 6-3, 240

Walton Cherry, LB, Trinity, Granger Shook, 6-2, 205

Anthony Coleman, LB, Prattville, Caleb Ross, 6-0, 190

Zhivago McNeil, Jr., LB, Mobile Christian, Ronnie Cottrell, 6-0, 220

Joshua Young, LB, Carver-Montgomery, James Thompson, 6-2, 215

Christian Burkhalter, LB, Spanish Fort, Ben Blackmon, 6-5, 225

Jaden Mosley, DB, McGill-Toolen, Earnest Hill, 6-2, 195

Laquarious Nelms, DB, Auburn, Adam Winegarden, 5-10, 170

Kameron Grays, DB, Blount, Lev Holly, 6-2, 210

Walter Tatum, DB, Notalsuga, Anthony Jones, 6-0, 185

Will Snyder, DB, Goshen, Bart Snyder, 6-3, 140

Spencer Arceneaux, ATH, McGill-Toolen, Earnest Hill, 6-3, 185

Forrest Taylor, K/P, Foley, Deric Scott, 5-11, 170


Earnest Hill, McGill-Toolen (head coach), Matt Johnson, Reeltown, Matt Geohagon, Bibb County, Brian Seymore, Demopolis, Josh McClendon, Greenville, Anthony Jones, Notasulga, Fredick Newton, Loachapoka