Breaking News
More () »

SWAC announces divisional realignment starting 2021-22; Alcorn State will move to SWAC West

With the addition of Florida A&M & Bethune Cookman, Alcorn State will now slide to the Western Division of the SWAC. Realignment begins during the 2021-22 season.
Credit: SWAC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced today divisional realignment with the additions of Florida A&M and Bethune-Cookman beginning with the 2021-22 academic year. 

The SWAC Council of Presidents and Chancellors along with the leagues’ Athletic Directors and Senior Woman Administrators voted unanimously in favor of the realignment taking into consideration shortest distance of travel among league membership, student-athlete welfare, missed class time, and overall competitive equity.  

The SWAC East division will include Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Bethune-Cookman, Florida, A&M, Jackson State, and Mississippi Valley State.

 The SWAC West division will be comprised of Alcorn State, Grambling State, Prairie View A&M, Southern, Texas Southern, and the Univ. of Arkansas-Pine Bluff. 

The new realignment of divisions will not impact traditional conference rivalries. The league is currently in the process of finalizing adjustments to future scheduling and championship formats. Additional information regarding schedules and championships will be announced at a later date.

SWAC East Division
Alabama A&M
Alabama State
Florida A&M
Bethune Cookman
Jackson State
Mississippi Valley State

SWAC West Division
Southern University
Grambling State
Alcorn State
Texas Southern
Prairie View A&M
Arkansas-Pine Bluff

About the SWAC
The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) is considered one of the premier HBCU conferences in the country and currently ranks among the elite in the nation in terms of HBCU alumni playing with professional sports teams.



Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out