Breaking News
More () »


Dariauna Lewis named a BOXTOROW First-Team All-American

Alabama A&M Lady Bulldog basketball standout Dariauna Lewis has been tabbed as a first-team HBCU All-American by BOXTOROW.

Dariauna Lewis' debut season with the Alabama A&M women's basketball program was a success.

Just shy of averaging a double-double, Lewis emerged as one of the Southwestern Athletic Conference's elite post players.

Now Lewis can add All-American to her resume.

Lewis has been tabbed as a first-team HBCU All-American by BOXTOROW.

During her debut season, Lewis, a 6-foot-1 forward from Omaha, Neb., averaged 17.5 points and 9.2 rebounds per game while helping Alabama A&M earn the No. 4 seed in the SWAC tournament — setting a new program with 17 Division I wins in the process.

Lewis led Alabama A&M in six major statistical categories: Scoring (17.5 ppg), rebounds (9.2 rpg), blocks (1.7 bpg), field-goals made (182), free-throws made (140) and free-throws attempted (211). The sophomore led the SWAC, and was third in the nation, with a 65.2 percent field-goal percentage.

Lewis also was a first-team all SWAC selection and the SWAC Newcomer of the Year.

Credit: Sidney Jackson Photos
Credit: AAMU Athletics

BOXTOROW All-American Teams
First Team

Ashley Bates, Hampton (G, Sr., Hopkins, Minn.)
Ciani Cryor, Texas Southern (G, Gr., Philadelphia, Pa.)
Chanette Hicks (G, r-Sr., Norfolk, Va.)
Dariauna Lewis, Alabama A&M (F, Sophomore, Omaha, Ne.)
Chelsea Mitchell, Morgan State (G, Sr., Columbia, Md.)
Niya Mitchell, Texas Southern (F, Sr., Bay City, Texas)
Paulina Afriyie, North Carolina Central (F, Sr., Bronx, N.Y.)
Ameysha Williams, Jackson State (C, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.)

Second Team
Chance Graham, Coppin State (F, Sr., Upper Marlboro, Md.)
Marneisha Hamer, Jackson State (F, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.)
Amaya Scott, Bethune-Cookman (F, Jr., Sunrise, Fla.)
Shawntayla Harris, Arkansas Pine Bluff (C, Sr., Tuscaloosa, Ala.)
Laren VanArsdale, Hampton (G, Soph., Powder Springs, Ga.)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Chanette Hicks, Norfolk State
BOXTOROW Coach of the Year: Vanessa Blair-Lewis, Bethune-Cookman