Breaking News
More () »

Alabama wide receiver named Jameson Williams finalist for Biletnikoff Award

Jameson Williams is junior transfer from Ohio State.

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — Alabama wide receiver Jameson Williams, a junior transfer from Ohio State, is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award.

The award recognizes the college football season's outstanding FBS receiver regardless of position. Any player who catches a pass, including wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back, is eligible.

According to the announcement from Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, the creator and sponsor of the award, the semifinalists, finalists, and award recipients are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers.

This year's finalists are:

  • Jameson Williams, Alabama
  • Jordan Addison, Pitt
  • David Bell, Purdue

Players are eligible if they are an active college player at an NCAA Division I FBS school and at positions which may catch a legal forward pass, including tight end, wide receiver, slot back, running back, and wingback. The award is given based on in-field performance, leadership, self-discipline, and significant, positive impact on the team’s success.

You can add your vote through the organization's FanVote, which lets you weigh in on who should win. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists (ten receivers), finalists (three receivers), and the winner. In the closest contest in years, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State. 

Past winners include:

  • 2020: DeVonta Smith, Alabama
  • 2019: Ja'Marr Chase, LSU
  • 2018: Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
  • 2017: James Washington, Oklahoma State
  • 2016: Dede Westbrook, University of Oklahoma
  • 2015: Corey Coleman, Baylor
  • 2014: Amari Cooper, Alabama
  • 2013: Brandin Cooks, Oregon State
  • 2012:Marqise Lee, USC
  • 2011: Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State

RELATED: Gonzaga, UCLA, Kansas top AP Top 25; Michigan up to No. 4

RELATED: NCAA streamlines constitution, set to give power to schools