Breaking News
More () »

Alabama's Bryce Young wins 2021 Heisman Trophy

Young becomes first Alabama quarterback in program history to win award.
Credit: AP

NEW YORK — As it is written so it shall be done. Alabama quarterback, Bryce Young is your 2021 Heisman Trophy Winner. Young becomes the first Crimson Tide quarterback in program history to receive the honor. This is the third straight year Alabama was represented in the finalist and the second consecutive year a Tide player has won the honor. Wide Receiver DeVonta Smith took home the trophy last year. 

Young has had quite the incredible season, completing 68 percent of his passes for 4,322  and 43 touchdowns through 13 games. He led the Tide to its 29th SEC championship victory and was named MVP after a 421 yard, 3 touchdown performance which propelled the team to its 40-24 upset over then No. 1 Georgia.

The sophomore signal-caller nearly swept all of the eligible post-season awards including, the Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award, AP Player of the Year and SEC Offensive Player of the Year. He also was named to the SEC All First Team.

Young is now the 4th Alabama player to add the Heisman Trophy to their resume! He was also collected two honors at the 2021 Home Depot College Football Awards. The Alabama football team collected three SEC individual awards.

RELATED: Back-to-back: Young gives Alabama consecutive Heisman wins

RELATED: Bryce Young collects two honors at 2021 Home Depot College Football Awards

RELATED: Bryce Young of Alabama voted AP Player of the Year

RELATED: Alabama football collects three SEC individual awards

WATCH: Alabama quarterback Bryce Young voted AP Player of the Year