Breaking News
More () »


Alabama leaders react as election is called for Joe Biden and Kamala Harris

Local and state leaders responded to the latest 2020 election results.
Credit: AP
Democratic presidential candidate former Vice President Joe Biden and Democratic vice presidential candidate Sen. Kamala Harris, D-Calif., arrive before Biden speaks, Friday, Nov. 6, 2020, in Wilmington, Del. (AP Photo/Carolyn Kaster)

ALABAMA, USA — Local and state leaders in Alabama reacted to the news of the election being called for Joe Biden and Kamala Harris:

Senator Doug Jones (D-Alabama), on Twitter:

Rep. Mo Brooks (R-5th District) on Twitter: I urge @realDonaldTrump & Republicans to fight Biden’s unlawful victory claims. There’s no way I’ll vote in the House to ratify the Electoral College votes of states where illegal votes distorted the will of the people in those states who voted legally.

Rep. Mike Rogers (R-3rd District), on Twitter:

Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-4th District), on Twitter:

Birmingham Mayor Randall Woodfin, on Twitter:

Montgomery Mayor Steven L. Reed, on Twitter:

See 2020 election results and an electoral map here.

2020 Election Results

President Trump won Alabama with 62% of the vote, picking up Alabama's nine electoral votes.

In Alabama, Tommy Tuberville (R) unseated incumbent Senator Doug Jones (D) for a seat in the U.S. Senate. Jones won a special election following Jeff Sessions resignation to become President Trump's first Attorney General.

Alabama also had several constitutional amendments on the ballot. 


State Amendment 1 - Require citizenship to vote - passed with 77% of the vote.

State Amendment 2 - Restructure state judicial system - passed with 50.29% of the vote.

State Amendment 3 - Longer terms for appointed judges - passed with 64% of the vote

State Amendment 4 - Recompile the State Constitution - passed with 66% of the vote

RELATED: World leaders congratulate Biden-Harris on presidential win

RELATED: President Jimmy Carter congratulates President-Elect Joe Biden on election win: 'We are proud'

RELATED: Former US presidents congratulate President-elect Joe Biden

RELATED: Celebrities, politicians and notable names react as Biden declared winner of presidency