x
Breaking News
More () »

City services holiday schedules in North Alabama, Huntsville, Decatur

Make sure you know when to put your garbage out and what city services are open.

ALABAMA, USA — Garbage collection schedules in some North Alabama city's will be impacted by the holiday season.

Decatur

From the city:

Thanksgiving

The offices of the City of Decatur will be closed in observance of the Thanksgiving holiday on Thursday, November 25 and Friday, November 26.

Recycling - Thursday's and Friday's blue routes will run on Monday, November 29.

Garbage - Thursday’s route will run on Friday, November 26. Friday’s route will run on Monday, November 29.

Leaf Collection – Leaf collection will be paused on Thursday, November 25 and Friday, November 26 in observance of the holiday.

Additional Information

Both the recycling and garbage collection holiday schedules can be viewed on our municipal website:

- Recycling Collection Holiday Schedule: https://www.cityofdecatural.com/departments/recycling-department/holiday-recycling-pickup/

- Garbage Collection Holiday Schedule: https://www.cityofdecatural.com/departments/solid-waste/holiday-garbage-pickup/

Additionally, Decatur Utilities offices will be closed on Thursday, November 25, and Friday, November 26, for the Thanksgiving holiday. If you experience an interruption or other utility emergency during this time, contact 256-552-1400 to report the issue.

Huntsville

From the city:

There will be no residential garbage, recycling or yard waste collection within the Huntsville City limits on the holidays listed below. Collection through the week will be delayed by one day beginning with the regular Monday pickups occurring on Tuesday.

In general, if your garbage collection date falls on a holiday, place your can by the curb the evening before the next business day.

City of Huntsville Holidays 2021

  • Wednesday, January 1 – New Year’s
  • Monday, January 18 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Monday, February 15 – Presidents Day
  • Friday, April 2 – Good Friday
  • Monday, May 31 – Memorial Day
  • Monday, July 5 – Fourth of July observed
  • Monday, September 6 – Labor Day
  • Thursday, November 11 – Veteran’s Day
  • Thursday/Friday, November 25-26 – Thanksgiving
  • Friday, December 24 – Christmas Eve
  • Friday, December 31 – New Year’s Eve

Athens and Limestone County, AL

  • There will not be any routes on Thanksgiving Day.
  • If your garbage is supposed to picked up on Thursday, Nov. 25, it will be picked up on Friday, Nov. 26.
  • If your garbage is supposed to be picked up on Friday, Nov. 26, it will be picked up on Saturday, Nov. 27.
  • City offices will be closed from Nov. 25 to Nov. 26.

Madison and Madison County, AL

  • 11/22/2021 Monday's garbage collected 
  • 11/23/2021 Tuesday's garbage collected 
  • 11/24/2021 Wednesday's garbage collected 
  • 11/25/2021 Closed for Thanksgiving Day 
  • 11/26/2021 Thursday's garbage collected Christmas Day 
  • 12/20/2021 Monday's garbage collected 
  • 12/21/2021 Tuesday's garbage collected 
  • 12/22/2021 Wednesday's garbage collected 
  • 12/23/2021 Thursday's garbage collected 
  • 12/24/2021 Closed for Christmas Day (Observed)

Florence, AL

Florence Municipal Offices will be closed on Thursday, November 25, 2021 & Friday, November 26, 2021.

Thursday and Friday's Garbage & Recycling Collection Will Be Delayed

November 25, Thursday - Thanksgiving Day – No Collection

Tuesday and Wednesday – No change

Thursday pickup will be Friday

Friday pickup will be Saturday

Unless otherwise posted there will be NO change in solid waste service.  Please have garbage at the street by 7:00 a.m. on your collection day.

November 11, Thursday - Veteran’s Day 

  • Tuesday and Wednesday – No change
  • Thursday pickup will be Friday
  • Friday pickup will be Saturday 

November 25, Thursday -  Thanksgiving Day 

  • Tuesday through Wednesday – No Change 
  • Thursday pickup will be Friday 
  • Friday pickup will be Saturday 

December 24, Friday - Christmas Day – No Change