Senators Doug Jones and Tina Smith are sworn in

Senator Doug Jones (D-AL) and Senator Tina Smith (D-MN) were sworn in on January 3rd by Vice President Mike Pence.

Doug Jones was elected to the Senate in a closely-contested special Senate election in December of 2017. He fills the seat vacated by Jeff Sessions when he became President Trump's Attorney General.

Tina Smith was appointed by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton to replace outgoing Senator Al Franken, who resigned after allegations of sexual misconduct by a number of women.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News